MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

An Excerpt from the Letter of Ninoy Aquino from Prison

leave a comment »

Today is the death anniversary of Ninoy Aquino. To honor him, we posted an excerpt of his letter written to Sen. Soc Rodrigo from his prison cell in Fort Bonifacio last June 19, 1973.

The mysteries started me on my meditation. It was the life of Christ from birth to ascension. Suddenly, Jesus became a live human being. His life was to become my inspiration. Here was a God-Man who preached nothing but love and was rewarded with death. Here was a God-Man who had power over all creation but took the mockery of a crown of thorns with humility and patience. And for all his noble intentions, he was shamed, vilified, slandered and betrayed.

Then it dawned on me how puny were my sufferings compared to Him whose only purpose was to save mankind from eternal damnation.

Then as if I heard a voice tell me: Why do you cry? I have gifted you with consolations, honors and glory which have been denied to the millions of your countrymen. I made you the youngest war correspondent, presidential assistant, mayor, vice-governor, governor, and Senator of the Republic, and I recall you never thanked me for all these gifts. I have given you a full life, a great wife and beautiful lovable children. Now that I visit you with a slight desolation, you cry and whimper like a spoiled brat!

With this realization, I went down on my knees and begged His forgiveness. I know I was merely undergoing a test, maybe in preparation for another mission. I know everything that happens in this world is with His knowledge and consent. I knew He would not burden me with a load I could not carry. I therefore resigned myself to His will.

To think, I have been praying the Lord’s Prayer for three and a half decades without really understanding fully the words I mumbled. I repeated the prayer so mechanically that I never really knew what I was saying: Thy Will be done, on earth!

Thy Will Be Done! These words snatched me from the jaws of death. In Laur, I gave up my life and offered it to Him… picked up my cross and followed Him.

“Unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit. He who loves his life loses it, and he who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life.”

Ninoy Aquino was a former Filipino politician who strongly opposed the regime of President Ferdinand Marcos. When Marcos declared Martial Law he was imprisoned for many years. He was later permitted to leave for the US for medical reasons. On August 21, 1983, upon his return to the Philippines from the US, he was gunned down in cold blood at the Manila International Airport (now Ninoy Aquino International Airport). His death triggered massive protests which led to the People Power Revolution that toppled the Marcos regime. He is considered by many as a hero, and remembered for his famous quote: “The Filipino is worth dying for.”

Written by MattAndJojang

August 21, 2008 at 8:36 am

Leave a Reply

