MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

A Blessing in Everything

with 2 comments

Their patience worn out by the journey, they complained against God.

Numbers 21:4

Squissh. Squassh. My shoes made funny sounds as I walked home from church. I needed a new pair but couldn’t afford it. So I found myself complaining every time it rained.

One rainy morning, I stood under the shed complaining again about my shoes. Suddenly, I felt the man on my right push me. As I turned to him in irritation, I was dumbfounded with what I saw. The man had no feet. And his worn-out crutches didn’t have any rubber to keep them from slipping. What seemed like pushing was actually some effort he exerted to prevent himself from falling. My heart went out to him. All of a sudden, I felt very grateful for my squeaking shoes.

For I had feet to put them on.

Many times in my life, I am like the Israelites. I forget about God’s blessings. I tend to be shortsighted. I don’t see beyond my present sufferings and discomfort. I fail to realize that in spite of life’s challenges, God is faithful. And always, He will provide me with all my needs.

Jojang

Written by MattAndJojang

September 21, 2008 at 2:19 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WOW! What a blessing to read this and to be reminded that others’ problems may be worse than our own. Thank you. 🙂 It’s always a good thing to remember that we’ve been given a blessing the first thing of the day. We’ve received breath. We’re alive. God has granted another day to do His will! 🙂

    Joie Mayfield

    September 21, 2008 at 3:27 pm

  2. Hi! Thanks for the comment. We feel the same way too. Often we forget how blessed we are. And we need to be reminded of how good God is. God bless you.

    mattandjojang

    September 21, 2008 at 8:10 pm


Leave a Reply

