MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Child’s Play

leave a comment »

Matt's Nephews and Nieces

Matt's Nephews and Nieces

It was one of those bad hair days. I woke up with a headache. Matthew wasn’t feeling well. I burnt the toast during breakfast. And I overcooked Matthew’s oatmeal. I didn’t feel like going out. But I had to. And I did.

Of course, my luck didn’t change. The taxi I rode was dirty. The meter was fast. And the driver looked grumpy. When I reached the bank, where I had to go. I saw that the line was long. Frustrated, I rolled my eyes. And stood in line.

While quietly standing there, I saw that the person/s in front of me was a mother and child. The child’s head was laid on her mother’s shoulder. She was awake. The mother was fidgety because I guess, like me, she too was in a hurry to do other things. The child was looking… rather, staring at me. I looked back. She smiled at me. I didn’t smile back. I was in a bad mood and I didn’t want to be nice. She smiled at me and blinked her eyes. I still didn’t smile back. She smiled at me; made a funny face and waved her hand. I couldn’t help myself, I laughed. I waved my hand at her too. And before I knew it, we were playing and laughing.

Laughter is the best medicine. And I thank that cute little girl for reminding me. No matter how big our trials may be. We will always find something to smile about. Like a ray of hope, it makes all the difference.

Jojang

Written by MattAndJojang

September 30, 2008 at 9:03 am

Posted in Blog

Tagged with , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

