MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Sweet Sacrifice

with one comment

Daddy and I when I graduated from college almost 30 years ago

Daddy and I when I graduated from college almost 30 years ago

Now at this time Mary arose and went with haste to the hill country…

Luke 1:39

My Daddy had arthritis. This means that he cannot take long walks. More so, he could not climb flights of stairs. If ever he is forced to, it takes him a very, very long time because he stops every so often.

When I was in college, I encountered a problem in school. The Dean wanted to talk to my parents so that he could settle the problem with them. My folks agreed to go. The Dean’s office was at the third floor and the elevator was out of order that day. I was so preoccupied with my problem, I forgot that Daddy was having difficulty climbing the stairs. Mom and I rushed up to the office and we both talked to the Dean. The meeting did not take long. And by the time we were through, my Daddy has just reached third floor. I saw my Daddy catching his breath, paused near the top of the stair. We told him the meeting was over. It was another ordeal for him to go down afterwards.

At that time, the meaning of my Daddy’s sacrifice meant little to me. I took for granted what he did and a lot of other things that he has done for me. But deep in my heart, I knew that Daddy loved me. Now, my father has passed away. And the memories bring tears to my eyes. I realize that they mean very, very much to me now. To him, it was not a sacrifice. He wanted to share that moment in my life that was very important to me.

I see that Mary must have been the same. She was overjoyed at the news of the miracle of Elizabeth. And she wanted to share that moment with her.

When we do things for people we love. It will never be a sacrifice. In fact, it will be a joy. Because we do it for love.

Jojang

Written by MattAndJojang

October 10, 2008 at 4:17 pm

Posted in Blog

Tagged with , , , , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. so nostalgic to see daddy….kahit sa old pix!

    ninang mut

    October 12, 2008 at 12:06 pm


Leave a Reply

