MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Stuck!

leave a comment »

… afflicted in every way but not constrained.

2 Corinthians 4:9

I don’t like rats. I freak out and scream at the sight of them. They creep on you. They nibble your clothes. And squeak, squeak, squeak to scare the life out of people like me. The thought of them is so repulsive that while I’m writing this reflection, I can feel my insides churn.

Recently, I placed fly paper all over our house. I saw two mice running around the house and have had sleepless nights since then. I felt it was war time with them. The next day when I came home from work, a mouse got stuck in the fly paper. I peeped from afar and was relieved to see that it was dead. Not knowing how to get rid of it, I sought the help of a neighbor. Shortly after, a young girl of about 16 came. Nonchalantly, she rolled the fly paper with the dead mouse. Placed it in a used paper bag. Beat the mouse to death (just in case it was still alive!). And threw it away in the waste can. With my mouth gaped open, grimacing from the scene, I stood shocked! How can a 16 year old girl be unafraid of a mouse? Where does she get all that courage?

Afflictions are like rats stuck on fly paper. When we’re scared of them and allow them to intimidate us, we’re stuck. Why should we be beaten? The victory has been won for us ahead. On that, we put our confidence.

Jojang

Written by MattAndJojang

October 21, 2008 at 10:33 pm

Posted in Blog

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

