MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Archive for November 1st, 2008

Marching On

with one comment

We love because He first loved us.

1 John 4:19

We have a gardenia bush at home. I love it. Whenever a flower blooms, I pick it out and put it in a vase near the kitchen windowsill. After a day or two, I notice that a line of ants would come marching towards the flower. I would watch them and wonder what they do. You know what, they don’t really do anything (at least to my uneducated mind, that’s what it seems). I see each of them climb over the stem, petals, towards the center and then turn around and around it. Each one of them do that, as if the mere scent of it is enough to satisfy them.

Fourteen years ago, I gave up a good job in a bank to work full time for the Lord. Since then until now, I have not done work other than sharing the mission of Jesus. My husband, also a missionary, likewise have the same commitment. It’s not easy. Many times we find our resources dwindling and worry seeps in. But as we remind ourselves on whom we work for, we take comfort in it. And always He is faithful in fulfilling His promises.

I guess loving Jesus does that to us. Many are called to express that love in different ways. Some are just more radical than others. But if you are like us, once we have smelled the scent of God’s love, we couldn’t help but give ourselves to him. Because He first gave Himself for us… “We love because He first loved us.”

Jojang


Written by MattAndJojang

November 1, 2008 at 2:45 pm