MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

What Matters Most

with one comment

Tina and Marc

My Nephew, Marc And His Mom (My Sister), Tina

“Can you go online?” This was the text message I received from my sister, Tina who lives in the US. Thanks to computer technology, even though I live in the Philippines, we can talk to each other anytime without spending a single cent. We shared photos, and she sent me a video of my nephew, Marc playing classical music at his piano recital. I felt like a proud uncle. I was happy to connect with them. I was happy to share what was happening in their lives.

In the past I was a workaholic. Everything I did was focused on my career. I was part of the rat race, and I ran quite well. But, in spite of the success, I was not happy.

Now, I live a simple life with my wife. I’ve taught myself to slow down, and to rearrange my priorities. I’ve learned that what matters most in life are relationships. Now, I have time to be with my wife. I have time to connect with family and friends. I have time to help other people. I have time to enjoy life… And I am happy.

Matt

Written by MattAndJojang

November 14, 2008 at 10:15 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. encouraging reflection, a deep insight for me when im very busy, quite many paper works for teachers like me, tnx

    leo ferrer

    November 14, 2008 at 6:11 pm


Leave a Reply

