MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

I Have More Than Enough

leave a comment »

fitting-room

… the kindness of God would lead you to repentance.

Romans 2:4

I just came from a millinery store.

“Can I try the red blouse on, please?” I asked the storekeeper.

Excitedly, I tried it on the fitting room. First button, it closed. Second button, it closed too. When I reached the third button, both ends of the blouse wouldn’t want to meet. More so, for the fourth and fifth button.

“Oh God, I really should go on a diet and start out an exercise program tomorrow.” I promised myself.

“Can I try the next size, please?” I shamefacedly asked the storekeeper.

She took it out of the shelf and handed it to me inside the fitting room.

“Shucks! This time, it’s too big. Too long.” I thought

Frustrated is a mild word to describe what I felt at that moment. I hated being fat. I hated being small. I hated myself. I stared at the mirror and put my tongue out at me.

“You know what? If you were tall and slim, every dress, blouse, skirt and pants hanging on this store would’ve fit you. Your problem would’ve been which one to buy. Not like this. Their sizes are either too small or too big for you. You’re not okay because you just don’t fit at all.” I found me telling myself.

Feeling downhearted and tearful at that, I dressed up and left the fitting room.

Accidentally, a scar faced, young, one legged woman in crutches bumped into me. She was going through the racks while engaged in a conversation with her companion. I overheard it and she was saying ….

“How I wish I can wear short skirts like I used to. But since my accident, I had to live with wearing pants and at the most unfashionable style at that. If only other people will realize how lucky they are that they’ve got all their body parts intact. Once you’ve lost it, it’s gone forever.”

At that same moment, I saw my image in the mirror. With tear filled eyes, I bowed down, put my hands together and said ….

“Lord God, I’m happy with what I’ve got. I may be fat and short but I’m healthy and whole. I know I don’t look so bad and I’ve had my share of admirers. I’m sorry Lord, for not being content with what I have. Thank you for this woman who made me see. I am blessed and beautiful. Touch my eyes, Lord. That I may always see the beauty in me and the people around me.”

God is good. Isn’t He?

– Jojang

Written by MattAndJojang

December 2, 2008 at 7:19 am

Posted in Blog

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

