MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

We Can’t Quit!

with one comment

quit

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

Luke 12:34

Heather is a friend of mine. She’s so pretty that whenever we go out, I notice men turn their heads and take a second look. Recently, her school mates prodded her to join the search for Miss Philippines in their province. She did – just for the “heck” of it. Although Heather knew she looked good, she also knew that she had to lose weight. And I mean really, really lose weight – like ten pounds or more. With great determination, Heather achieved the “impossible.” She worked out, walked a lot, and watched her diet. After two weeks, she lost her unwanted pounds. We were all amazed at how a used to be, lazy person was able to achieve such a feat in a short time.

I learned a lesson from her. If I wanted something so badly I will do anything and everything to get it. Even if it entails a lot of sacrifice, as long as I keep my eye on my goal, it can be done. It’s the same with my relationship with Jesus. If there is anything I aim for in my life, it is to be with Him in heaven.

Going back to Heather… one week before the pageant night, she backed out of the contest. It was due to some disagreement with the pageant organizers. As Heather was recounting to us the details of her discord, she was munching a bag of Cheez Curls. She also bought some chocolates which was going to be her dessert after dinner. Yup, when she quit the contest, her resolve to stay slim left her as well.

I hope and pray that Jesus will always be the greatest treasure in my heart. That no trial, suffering, humiliation, and pain can take Him away from me. “I consider that the sufferings of this present time are as nothing compared with the glory to be revealed for us.” (Romans 8:18).

– Jojang

Written by MattAndJojang

January 27, 2009 at 11:08 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I Love your Blog!! Although I am new to wordpress, yours is one that I really enjoy, and I wanted to tell you to stop by mine, I make specialty wreaths that are aromatheraputic!! They are scented to deal with all kinds of aches and pains. Come check me out!

    wreathconnection

    January 28, 2009 at 3:44 pm


Leave a Reply

