MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Against All Odds

with 3 comments

new-years-picture-0021

Go from your country…

Genesis 12:1

Promotion at work. This was something that everyone dreamed about (including me). So when I got it, I, my friends, and especially my Dad was overjoyed. But in spite of the title, increase in pay, and added benefits, I was unhappy. Nothing could still the restlessness of my heart. A few months after, I quit my job to heed the call to work full time for a Catholic publications company. I knew it was a radical move because the pay is only half of what I was getting in my former job. And there were no fringe “material” benefits. My superiors and colleague at work couldn’t understand my decision. My friends were perplexed. My father was very disappointed. However, in spite of all the disconcerting reactions, I stood firm. I knew this was what the Lord wanted me to do.

My life has changed since then. My secular life ended. My missionary life began.

Missionary life is not without its struggles. Many times I felt I made the wrong decision. With God’s grace, I persevered and continued to serve Him.

I’m now married. My spouse is a missionary as well. We both decided to live a simple life and serve the Lord in whatever way He calls us.

In hindsight, I see the wisdom of God. Why? Because I’m happy. I may not have a title to my name. Nor a large bank account. I don’t own a house, car, credit cards but God takes care of my needs. In my service to God, He has given me more than I could imagine. I have been to the US twice. I’ve traveled to Europe more than once. I’ve been to almost all parts of the Philippines. I have a spouse who loves me and whom I love. Since we’ve decided to be simple, we are easily content with whatever we have.

God has brought me to my promised land. A land not literally flowing with milk and honey. But a land filled with His love, love of my spouse, love of family and friends. Against all odds, I’m glad I obeyed.

– Jojang

Written by MattAndJojang

February 16, 2009 at 8:09 pm

Posted in Blog

Tagged with , , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Heyyy! GREAT POST!!

    Thanks 🙂

    momyassus

    March 18, 2009 at 6:58 pm

  2. Hi, Tarcs suggested to me to check out your blog. I can resonate well with this particular blog because I myself had resigned from corporate job to pursue a calling to teach. It wasn’t instant as I had to study first but after two years of studying theology now I will begin to teach college students. I also work for a catholic publication and like you, hopefully, I hope to find someone who can serve God side-by-side with me. Vocation is truly about following, experiencing, and doing God’s will in our lives. The scripture says, “seek ye first the kingdom of God and everything will be given to you.” Eversince I tread this road, yes I have not expected to get rich anymore but the wonderful thing is that in spite of it, I am still at peace and very happy where I am now. I’d like to invite you also to visit my multiply site: http://rebornrose18.multiply.com/

    Renee

    May 4, 2009 at 9:21 pm

  3. Hi Renee, thank you for visiting our blog. Thank you for your encouraging words. Indeed, there is nothing like serving God and making Him first in our life. We encourage you to go on and follow the road less traveled. You will not regret it… Thank you for the invitation to visit your multiply site. For sure, we will visit it regularly… Take care. God bless!

    mattandjojang

    May 4, 2009 at 9:35 pm


Leave a Reply

