MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Archive for May 29th, 2009

The Seed of Faith

leave a comment »

unbelief

I am with you always.

Matthew 28:20

A few days ago I read this excerpt from the writings of a scientist:

“For me, and probably for all of us, the concept of a personal, interested god can be appealing, often deeply so. In times of sorrow or despair, I often wonder what it would be like to be able to pray to God… and believe that I was heard, believe that my petition might be answered. When I sing the hymns of faith in Jesus’ love, I am drawn by their intimacy, their allure, their poetry. But in the end such faith is simply not available to me. I can’t do it.”

I felt sad that, although she realized how faith could be a powerful resource in her life, she concluded: “…in the end such faith is simply not available to me. I can’t do it.”

Although I personally struggle with certain aspects of my faith, I am grateful that the seed of faith has been planted in my heart.

My faith has taught me that there is a purpose for everything that happens in my life.

My faith has given me the strength to cope with the difficulties and challenges of life.

My faith has given me the courage to go on during the darkest moments of my life.

Thank you, Lord, for the gift of faith. Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.

Matt

Written by MattAndJojang

May 29, 2009 at 10:00 am