MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

You Do Not Need Many Things

with 2 comments

My house is buried in the deepest recess of the forest
Every year, ivy vines grow longer than the year before.
Undisturbed by the affairs of the world I live at ease,
Woodmen’s singing rarely reaching me through the trees.
While the sun stays in the sky, I mend my torn clothes
And facing the moon, I read holy texts aloud to myself.
Let me drop a word of advice for believers of my faith.
To enjoy life’s immensity, you do not need many things.

Ryokan

Written by MattAndJojang

December 2, 2009 at 10:02 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Absolutely beautiful, and serendipitous. My new post has elicited comments which point to just this reality. I’m so glad to have found these words, so that I can share them.

    The image is lovely, too. And of course the name is unfamiliar, so I’ll go looking for Ryokan, and learn something new again.

    shoreacres

    December 8, 2009 at 8:05 am

  2. Thank you, Linda, for your appreciative remarks…

    This poem for me evokes a longing to live a simpler life. (Which is, by the way, very counter cultural in the kind of materialistic and consumerist society where we live in.)

    Indeed, Ryokan’s message is probably more relevant to us who live in the 21st century than to the 16th century Japanese society of which he was part of…

    Matt

    mattandjojang

    December 8, 2009 at 1:51 pm


Leave a Reply

