MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

The Vulnerability Of God

with one comment

My experience today is much more the discovery how vulnerable God is. You see, God is so respectful of our freedom. And if as the Epistle of John says that God is love, anyone who has loved in their life knows they’ve become vulnerable. Where are you and the other person and do you love me back? So if God is love, it means that God is terribly vulnerable. And God doesn’t want to enter into a relationship where He’s obliging or She is obliging us to do something. The beautiful text in the Apocalypse, the Book of Revelations: “I stand at the door and I knock. If somebody hears me and opens the door, then I will enter.” What touches me there is God knocking at the door, not kicking the door down, but waiting. Do you, will you open? Do you hear me? Because we’re in a world where there’s so much going on in our heads and our hearts and anxiety and projects that we don’t hear God knocking at the door of our hearts. So I’d say that what touches me the deepest, maybe because I’m becoming myself more vulnerable, is the discovery of the vulnerability of God, who doesn’t oblige.

Jean Vanier

Written by MattAndJojang

February 23, 2010 at 10:57 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Blessing to you. I found this page as I was searching for an appropriate picture of “Faith” to apply to give someone to place in their Facebook.

    I’m greatful that the Lord led me to find you.

    Next, I’ll visit your Facebook location.

    Please visit my little message to those seeking comfort that is located on Facebook.

    There are so many sites with this title but try it
    Prayer Partner or Prayer Partners as an organization.

    Blessings,
    Doug

    Doug

    April 30, 2010 at 9:51 pm


Leave a Reply

