MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Thomas Merton’s Prayer of Abandonment and Trust

with 2 comments

My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going.

I do not see the road ahead of me.

I cannot know for certain where it will end.

Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.

But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you and I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing.

And I know that if I do this, you will lead me by the right road although I may know nothing about it.

Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death, I will not fear, for you are ever with me and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.

Thomas Merton

Written by MattAndJojang

October 10, 2010 at 3:56 pm

Posted in Blog

Tagged with , , , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A beautiful photo, and wonderful words from Merton.

    They remind me of some of my favorite words from Luther (slightly paraphrased, because I’m feeling too lazy to go googling this morning): “That which you trust and believe with your whole heart, that is your God.”

    One of Luther’s deepest insights is that there are no atheists. The only question is, do you put your trust in false gods, or the true God? It’s caused me to smile in the midst of heated discussions, more than once.

    shoreacres

    October 10, 2010 at 11:12 pm

  2. Merton is my childhood hero. I first read him when I was 15 or 16 years old…

    I particularly love this prayer, especially now – because it fits my present situation in life. I am presently undergoing major changes in my life, and I am still in the dark as to what to do next.

    I can only entrust my life to God, and hope that he will turn things around…

    Matt

    mattandjojang

    October 11, 2010 at 8:51 am


Leave a Reply

