MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

The Real Miracle

with 2 comments

Photo: avalonblues/Flickr

People usually consider walking on water or in thin air a miracle. But I think the real miracle is not to walk either in water or in thin air, but to walk on earth. Every day we are engaged in a miracle which we don’t even recognize: a blue sky, white clouds, green leaves, the black, curious eyes of a child — our own two eyes. All is a miracle.

~ Thich Nhat Hahn

Written by MattAndJojang

May 30, 2011 at 7:48 am

Posted in Blog

Tagged with , , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a beautiful image. The building feels a bit like a lighthouse to me – every time I see a lighthouse I think, “I want to live there!”

    When I was very young – fifth grade, I think – I went to our church pastor with a problem. I told him I wasn’t sure about that loaves and fishes business. I wasn’t sure it really was a miracle. Smart man that he was, he asked me what I thought happened. I said I thought Jesus just made everyone want to share what they had. “Well,” he said. “Wouldn’t that be a miracle, too?”

    😉

    shoreacres

    May 31, 2011 at 3:00 am

  2. I can understand the way you feel about lighthouses. I believe that there are places that evoke special feelings whenever we see or remember them.

    Thank you, Linda, for sharing the delightful story about the miracle of the loaves and fishes.

    A lot of people (including myself) have problems with the stories of miracles in the Bible. (The term miracle here being limited to marvelous and extraordinary events.)

    I remember somebody saying: “To be alive, to be able to see, to walk… it’s all a miracle.” The other day I felt grateful waking up to a clear, sunny morning after we’ve had stormy weather for the past few days. For me, that’s a miracle!

    Miracles are all around us even in the ordinary events of life. We simply need to recover our sense of wonder and gratitude to be able to recognize them.

    ~ Matt

    MattAndJojang

    May 31, 2011 at 12:46 pm


Leave a Reply

