MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

The Spiritual Journey

with 4 comments

Painting: Pi-Shan Lan

Run to the mountain;

Shed those scales on your eyes

That hinder you from seeing God.

~ Dante

The spiritual journey is not about fabricating something that is alien to ourselves. It is not about adding something that we do not already have (whether it is “wisdom,” “holiness,” “goodness.” “virtue,” or some other thing).

All we need  to do is to remove the layers of ego-stuff that we have accumulated  through the years, and unmask the illusions we have created about ourselves so that the presence of God within us could shine through our lives.

We already have what we are seeking. The only thing we need to do is to realize this. To quote T.S. Eliot:

We shall not cease from our exploration

And at the end of all our exploring

Will be to arrive where we started

And know the place for the first time

 ~ Matt

Written by MattAndJojang

January 24, 2012 at 4:15 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s one of my favorite quotations from Eliot. The Four Quartets are a wealth of insight. I could spend the rest of my life with those alone and probably not plumb the full depth of meaning.

    I enjoyed the post on Africa and listening, too. When I lived in Liberia, people often would show up at the door and say, “We’ve come to spend time”. And that’s what they’d do. Sometimes I find it ironic – the more devices and programs we have for keeping in touch and sharing, the more isolated we are.

    Time for more stories!

    shoreacres

    January 26, 2012 at 10:39 pm

  2. T.S. Eliot is one of my favorite poets, too! Yes, it is true, his poems can be interpreted in many different ways, and indeed contain “a wealth of insight.” I have yet to meet a person who can tell me that he has fully understood Eliot’s poems. I would like to meet him and sit at his feet.

    Sometimes, I have to admit, that I don’t even understand some of the things Eliot says in his poems. And yet his poems still evoke feelings and communicate a message that I can’t articulate. This is not surprising. As Eliot or someone said: “True art can communicate before it is understood.”

    Moreover, I don’t know if Eliot meant it to be this way: but, for me, his poems are more than works of art. His poems, at least for me, are pathways to the Divine and doorways to the Sacred. (In fact, his poems remind me so much of the poems of one of the greatest poets of Spain, and one of the greatest Christian mystics – St. John of the Cross).

    I posted the story on Africa and listening because it reminded me so much of the way things were here in our country (the Philippines) in the past. I remembered that when I was a kid, friends and relatives would simply drop by our house unannounced, and just spend time talking and telling stories to each other (while, we, the children played) – sometimes even up to the wee hours of the morning! Unfortunately, because of the nature of our fast-paced technological society, those times are becoming just a memory (especially in the urban areas).

    So sad…

    ~ Matt

    MattAndJojang

    January 27, 2012 at 9:36 am

  3. The painting is lovely. Karma must be moving in the blogosphere because I am talking about self-realization as a means to avoid divorce tonight. It is all about knowing your inner self, where peace is still.

    Great post, Matt.
    Red.

    Red

    February 1, 2012 at 9:43 am

  4. Thank you, Red. I’m glad you like the painting. It’s a Zen painting, if I’m not mistaken. Just love the Zen arts (especially Zen paintings & haiku).

    So true, Red – if our couples are to avoid divorce they must be compatible spiritually. In their life as a couple they have to live for something higher than themselves, otherwise their commitment to live together for “better or worse” wouldn’t last.

    That’s why I’m so grateful (although I married quite late – at the age of 44) that I found a wife with whom I can share my deepest spiritual aspirations.

    ~ Matt

    MattAndJojang

    February 1, 2012 at 10:04 am


Leave a Reply

