MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

My Dear God

with 4 comments

Half Crescent Moon

Photo: Brian Ventrudo

Dear God, I cannot love Thee the way I want to. You are the slim crescent of a moon that I see and my self is the earth’s shadow that keeps me from seeing all the moon. The crescent is very beautiful and perhaps that is all one like I am should or could see; but what I am afraid of, dear God, is that my self shadow will grow so large that it blocks the whole moon, and that I will judge myself by the shadow that is nothing. . .

~ Flannery O’Connor

Written by MattAndJojang

September 13, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Posted in Blog

Tagged with , , , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My gosh. What a beautiful selection. I went searching and found that this is from a journal kept at the Writers’ Workshop in Iowa City. I’m anxious to read the article in the “New Yorker” magazine that references it. I had to smile – it’s quite a different Flannery that the one I’ve met in her fiction and her letters.

    shoreacres

    September 14, 2013 at 7:06 am

  2. I first heard about Flannery O’Connor a few years ago when I listened to this podcast: Faith Fire By Literature. It’s an interview of Paul Elie, who is the author of The Life You Save May Be Your Own: An American Pilgrimage. The book is a biography of the 4 great American Catholic literary figures of the 20th century – Thomas Merton, Dorothy Day, Flannery O’Connor, and Walter Percy. Unfortunately, after listening to the podcast, I never came around to reading Flannery O’Connor’s books.

    This excerpt from her prayer journal is my initial exposure to her work. I agree, Linda, it’s beautiful! Although quite short, it’s one of the most beautiful prayers that I ever read! I should have read her earlier…

    I’m putting her journal A Prayer Journal in my must-read list.

    ~ Matt

    MattAndJojang

    September 14, 2013 at 9:12 am

  3. She was quite a fan of Thomas Aquinas – the title of her collection of letters, is titled “The Habit of Being”. It’s a wonderful way to get into her mind. Years worth of letters on everything from peacock raising to dealing with her lupus – and literary squabbles, too! You’d enjoy it, I know.

    shoreacres

    September 14, 2013 at 9:16 am

  4. Thomas Aquinas – a great intellectual, a great saint – one of my favorites! Thank you, Linda, for recommending her collection of letters, “The Habit of Being.” I’ll definitely look into it. From the little that I know (started reading the wikipedia article about her last night), if I’m not mistaken, among other things, her letters contain her deepest insights about religion and spirituality. From the excerpt that I just read (and posted), I know I’ll definitely enjoy it!

    ~ Matt

    MattAndJojang

    September 14, 2013 at 9:33 am


Leave a Reply

