MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Words of Wisdom from Pope Francis

with 8 comments

Pope Francis Caressing A Disfigured Man

Pope Francis Caressing A Disfigured Man

I’m a Catholic, and I just love Pope Francis! He’s now expressing what, all along, I really felt about certain things.

I believe in God, not a Catholic God.

— Pope Francis

Exactly! For me. at the end of the day, religion is really simple. It’s about the love of God. In Christian and Trinitarian terms: it’s simply experiencing the love of God through Christ in the power of the Spirit. After cutting through the maze of theological concepts, legalistic rules, and complex rituals, God is simply a loving God. And His love is not confined to any specific race, nationality, or creed. He is the God and Father of all persons – whether Jew or Greek, Christian or Non-Christian, Believer or Unbeliever. And a person who experiences the love of God shows compassion towards all individuals regardless of their religious beliefs or lack of it.

The church has sometimes locked itself up in small things, in small-minded rules.

— Pope Francis

Sad to say, this is what religion is all about for many people. Religion is something that is used to browbeat people to submission, and to perpetrate the power of so-called spiritual leaders through the use of legalistic rules and threats. Religion is no longer a venue to love God and serve others but is a means to maintain the status quo, sometimes with very harmful consequences (for example, the financial scandal in the Vatican as well as the sexual abuses committed by some church leaders).

~ Matt

To read the entire article click this link: Pope Francis: “I Believe in God, Not In A Catholic God.”

Written by MattAndJojang

November 21, 2013 at 12:15 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I continue to be very impressed with Francis. He seems to be exactly the kind of leader (and example) the Christian world needs right now. There are some things places I very much hope he will lead the Church.

    Bill

    November 21, 2013 at 7:52 pm

  2. Pope Francis is truly amazing, Bill! Couldn’t imagine any of the previous popes making such radical statements. More importantly, I’m impressed with his compassion. I hope that this will rub off on our church leaders.

    ~ Matt

    MattAndJojang

    November 22, 2013 at 8:19 am

  3. I’m not a Catholic but I have to admit this guy is beginning to excite me. His humility and humanity alone is so real. To me he stands for his faith and not his religion which is (personally) so fundamental. A Franciscan brother once said to me:-

    “Faith needs doubt (and searching). A faith without doubt is called religion and religion is a very dangerous thing… ”

    Senan

    Senan

    November 23, 2013 at 12:06 am

  4. me too, Matt … love Pope Francis, am following him every day! He reaffirms everything that I love about being Catholic. What a gift he is to me and to the world.

    beth cioffoletti

    November 23, 2013 at 12:12 am

  5. I’m not surprised at all, Senan, that Pope Francis excites you. He’s such an inspirational figure. His humanity, simplicity, humility, and compassion never fails to move and inspire people.

    Since my teens. after I and members of my family had intense and personal spiritual experiences, I’ve been involved with organized religion. Although most of my experiences with religion has been positive, it can’t be denied that religion has its negative elements, too. For instance, a cursory glance of Catholicism’s history will reveal such instances: the Crusades and the Inquisition, and, closer to our times, the financial scandals in the Vatican as well as the sexual abuse cases of priests, among other things. Personally, too, I also have experienced some of the negative and dysfunctional aspects of religion.

    That’s why what the Franciscan brother said is true. When our understanding of religion becomes one-sided and one-dimensional, it can become a dangerous thing. Spiritual truth can never be expressed is such a narrow way. In fact, spiritual truth is best expressed in a paradoxical manner. Doubt is indeed part of faith. Unless we doubt and question we will never be able to integrate our spirituality with our personal lives. Instead, we become mindless robots, following another person’s/group’s interpretation of what spirituality is all about, sometimes with very harmful consequences.

    Paramount to a person’s spiritual search should be not an institution – no matter how hallowed it is – but the person’s conscience.

    ~Matt

    MattAndJojang

    November 24, 2013 at 8:04 pm

  6. Hi, Beth. So happy to hear from you. I hope your health has improved, and all’s well with you.

    Just like you, I follow Pope Francis’s every move and statement. For me, he embodies what it means to be a human being and to be a Catholic Christian.

    His leadership gives me hope, in spite of the challenges that are confronting our church in these difficult and troubled times.

    Needless to say, he inspires me to be a better human being. His papacy is such a breath of fresh air!

    ~ Matt

    MattAndJojang

    November 24, 2013 at 8:16 pm

  7. A new item on the BBC news page. I especially liked the quote, “A real shepherd must smell of his sheep”.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-25474400

    Senan

    Senan

    December 21, 2013 at 11:15 am

  8. Thank you, Senan, for the link.

    A great article!

    He makes me proud to be called a Catholic again. His genuine humanity and humble lifestyle truly inspires me.

    Although considered as the head of 1 billion Catholics, his position and power doesn’t seem to go into his head. On the contrary, he makes the effort to reach out to his flock. with a message that can be easily understood by the ordinary man on the street. But above all he reaches out to people through acts of compassion, especially towards the weak and marginalized sectors of society.

    Truly, he is a real shepherd who smells of his sheep.

    An extraordinary man who, I think, history will judge as one of the greatest popes of all time…

    ~Matt

    MattAndJojang

    December 21, 2013 at 6:09 pm


Leave a Reply

