MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Rest In Peace, Robin Williams

with 6 comments

Robin Williams

Saddened when I heard that Robin Williams suddenly passed away today. I hope he’s now at peace…

Here’s a quote from one of his movies, Dead Poets Society, which incidentally is one of my favorite movies:

We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for.

— Matt

Written by MattAndJojang

August 12, 2014 at 10:50 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Dead Poets Society” is one of my favorites, too. I was so sad to hear the news. I’ve had hard times in my life, but when I try to imagine what it must be like to feel there’s no other way “out”, no other way to cope, it’s just so hard. We were blessed to have him with us through the years.

    shoreacres

    August 12, 2014 at 10:59 am

  2. Yes, Linda, we are truly blessed to have him. I know that he was a great actor. But from I’ve heard he was also a good human being who truly cared for people. He will be missed.

    I have an inkling of what he must have felt because I also struggle with depression. In my case, it’s probably genetic. (I’m not the only one in the family who has it).

    Anyway, I’ll always remember him not only for his comedic roles, but also for his serious roles in the movies, like Dead Poets Society and Good Will Hunting, which by the way are among my favorite movies.

    Rest in peace, Robin…

    –Matt

    MattAndJojang

    August 12, 2014 at 11:17 am

  3. A tragic loss. How sad to learn that someone who seemed to have such a zest for life and to be filled with laughter was fighting a personal battle against such darkness. It’s a reminder I think of a good reason why we should be kind to all people. We never know what battles they may be waging.

    May he rest in peace.

    Bill

    August 12, 2014 at 6:13 pm

  4. Indeed, a tragedy of huge proportions, Bill. I was stunned and saddened when I heard the news of his sudden death. A talented entertainer, and one of the rare genuine persons in Hollywood (according to his fellow actors who have been paying tribute to him), this is a great loss. Unfortunately, severe depression could sometimes lead to such tragic circumstances. As a person also suffering from periodic depression, I can only hope that advances in the fields of psychiatry and neuroscience could help us understand and even cure this disease…

    –Matt

    MattAndJojang

    August 13, 2014 at 9:18 am

  5. The soul sometimes is able to speak through a person more directly than conventional means of communication. Tears, love, touch and of course laughter. It is sad that he has gone especially in the circumstances that no doubt the media will have a feeding frenzy over in the months to come.

    So all I’ll say is – He made me laugh and shed a tear or two.

    Senan

    Senan

    August 13, 2014 at 2:48 pm

  6. As we speak, Senan, details surrounding his death have been revealed – something that should have been kept in private. In the words of his wife:

    …it is our hope the focus will not be on Robin’s death, but on the countless moments of joy and laughter he gave to millions.

    A talented actor, a generous and kind human being, he will be missed…

    — Matt

    MattAndJojang

    August 13, 2014 at 5:25 pm


Leave a Reply

