MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Rest in Peace, Irene

with 4 comments

Irene
I feel so sad. Today I heard the news that my cousin, Irene, lost her five-year battle with cancer. She was only 53 years old… It was as if it was only yesterday when we played together as kids during those summer vacations… Rest in peace, Irene…

A photo of Irene (2nd from left) when we were kids... From left to right: Tina(my sister), Irene, Dino(my cousin), Joey(Irene's brother), Myself, Jac(my sister)... At the back: Gerry(my brother), Monina(Irene's sister)

A photo of Irene (2nd from left) when we were kids… From left to right: Tina(my sister), Irene, Dino(my cousin), Joey(Irene’s brother), Myself, Jac(my sister)… At the back: Gerry(my brother), Monina(Irene’s sister)

From Irene’s daughter and my niece, Cristine:

About 5:35 am, my mom took her last breath. Marvin (Irene’s partner) and JC (Irene’s son)  were with her all night and they called me early. She was surrounded by loved ones til the very last breath.

There are no words to convey how much sadness fills our hearts, or how great of a loss she is to many, but at least she is no longer fighting a losing battle. Cancer has no hold on her anymore and her spirit is now alive, as it should be, and she is on her way to reunite with her father, Fidel, and God.

Please pray for her and her new journey to heaven. Thank you for all your love and support and everything in between. We will let you know about upcoming arrangements, once they are done.

Remember her beautiful smile and know she can smile big again without the pains of cancer.

Thank you, Cristine

–Matt

Written by MattAndJojang

October 22, 2014 at 9:36 am

Posted in Blog

Tagged with , , , , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a beautiful smile she had, over the years. I’m sorry for your loss, but glad that you so clearly have so many good memories. That’s a long struggle. She surely must have been a brave woman.

    shoreacres

    October 22, 2014 at 7:29 pm

  2. Thank you, Linda.

    Irene and I grew up together. When we were kids, my parents, I, and my siblings lived somewhere in the Visayas ( a group of islands in the Philippines) with my maternal grandparents. While Irene and my other cousins as well as the brother and sisters of my Mom (she’s my cousin from my mother side) and their spouses lived in Luzon (mostly in Manila). On summer vacations they would come to stay with us, or we would come to Manila and stay with them.

    That was a long time ago, but it seems it was only yesterday. We played together as kids, and grew up together.

    Even as kids she had a mind of her own. She grew up a strong woman, married young, had kids and grandchildren. She lived a full life.

    She was, however, not so fortunate with her first two partners in her life. But towards the end of her life, she found Marvin (her partner), who really took care of her, and was with her until the end. We are so grateful to him for allowing Irene to experience what true love is, and for taking care of her.

    We are so sad that she passed away at such a young age. (She’s the first among the cousins to have gone ahead). We will miss her. But we know that she’s now in a better place, free from all pain and suffering…

    –Matt

    MattAndJojang

    October 22, 2014 at 9:00 pm

  3. Rest in Peace Irene, she was a good friend of mine way back in VITO CRUZ in Manila when was there 1979 to 1983. Irene was a very good friend during those CB Radios. We are member of the “Sneaky Group” a Citizens Radio Band for fun those times. Our Creator is calling you back Irene to give you rest and peace. Thank you for the memories my friend, so sad to hear from you just now since 1983. My deepest condolence to the family. – Dan Tulas ( Teleperformance Philippines )

    donmyphonesupportcom

    November 25, 2015 at 12:45 am

  4. Thank you for your kind words, Dan.

    Yes, I remember those times when Irene was into CB radios. I was also staying at Vito Cruz with their family during those times, working in Manila. Though we are saddened because she passed away, we are comforted by the thought that she’s now at peace in the bosom of our Creator. And we will always cherish the good times and good memories we have of her…

    –Matt

    MattAndJojang

    December 3, 2015 at 9:29 am


Leave a Reply

