MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Christmas Letter 2014

with 14 comments

Jojang and Matt

Jojang and Matt

Dear Family and Friends,

Waiting is a mystery, a natural sacrament of life. There is a meaning hidden in all the times we have to wait. It must be an important mystery because there is so much waiting in our lives.

–Fr. James F. Donelan, SJ

“Mama, please help me find a spot in the house where I can pray?” Matthew asked me one morning.

Surprised, I said, “Okay.”

The request was music to my ears because it was a healthy sign that Matthew is well enough to be able to practice what he loves most – meditation and contemplative prayer.

Gone are the days when our days, weeks and months are measured by the number of times he is rushed to the hospital. Gone are the days when a foul smell is enough to trigger an asthma attack.

Indeed, waiting is a sacrament because the last time Matthew was able to sit, meditate and pray was twelve years ago…

Thank you, Lord. You are so good!

Although Matthew has not fully regained his old health back, nowadays when he is not feeling well, we already know what to do and shortly after he is able to recover and bounce back. Of course, we still need to be careful, and avoid situations and places that may trigger him. But we have gone a long way off from before. Slowly but surely, we hope that he becomes even stronger than when he was before.

We would like to thank Dra. Chona who patiently and lovingly took care of us throughout all these years. You are God’s angel for us.

Lastly, we cannot end this letter without mentioning our blog. Now on its sixth year, we have 230+ followers and have reached 249,500+ hits; a wonderful reaffirmation that we must be doing something good and reaching out to so many people. We appreciate our cyber friends who regularly keep in touch. And even those that drop by once in a while.

Let me end this letter with a Christmas Prayer (not my own). It echoes what we have in our hearts….

Christmas Prayer

Meister Eckhart once said:

What good is it that Christ was born 2,000 years ago if he is not born now in your heart?

Lord, we do far too much celebrating your actual coming into our hearts. I believe in God, but do I believe in God-in-me? I believe in God in heaven, but do I believe in God-on-earth? I believe in God out there, but do I believe in God-with-us?

Lord, be born in my heart. Come alive in me this Christmas! Amen.

We pray that Christ will be alive for you this Christmas and all throughout the New Year ahead.

 

Matthew and Jojang

Written by MattAndJojang

December 8, 2014 at 11:59 am

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Merry Christmas and best wishes for a healthy and joyous year to come!

    Thank you for your reflections and prayer. “I believe in God in heaven but do I believe in God-on-earth?” That is such an important question to be asked.

    Bill

    December 8, 2014 at 7:51 pm

  2. Thank you Kuya Mat and Ate Jojang. Merry Christmas too! blessings…. 🙂

    Tess

    December 8, 2014 at 10:10 pm

  3. Amen!Merry Christmas po sa inyo!God is indeed very good to those who love Him. May He always reign in our hearts… in our life.God bless po.

    emily ducta

    December 9, 2014 at 1:31 am

  4. Merry Christmas kuya Matt & ate Jojang. Thank you for sharing prayers, preparing for this Special Season. Have blessed Holidays.

    Irene A.

    December 9, 2014 at 12:50 pm

  5. You’re welcome, Bill.

    I agree. In our outward-looking and activity-oriented world we need to ponder this question and go inward, realizing that what is deepest in our spirit is Divine. As Meister Eckhart always insists: may the Living Word be reborn in us, especially during this Christmas season.

    Wishing you and your loved ones a Blessed Christmas and a Grace-Filled New Year.

    — Matt and Jojang

    MattAndJojang

    December 9, 2014 at 4:46 pm

  6. You’re welcome, Tess.

    Wishing you a Christmas season filled with grace and blessing.

    –Matt and Jojang

    MattAndJojang

    December 9, 2014 at 4:47 pm

  7. Indeed, God is good, Emily!

    May the peace and love of Christ be with you, Dante, and the rest of the family during this Christmas season.

    –Matt and Jojang

    MattAndJojang

    December 9, 2014 at 4:49 pm

  8. Hi, Aeyo!

    Thanks for the Christmas greetings.

    We are always praying for you. May you have a Blessed Christmas and a Grace-Filled New Year.

    –Matt and Jojang

    MattAndJojang

    December 9, 2014 at 4:50 pm

  9. It’s hard to believe another year has come around, Jojang and Matt. Your postings here have been a real gift in the past year, and I thank you for them.

    I’m glad to hear that health issues, while still present, are less critical. And I’m thrilled that I’ll be able to see some of my very small family on Christmas day. Indeed, there are blessings all around us, contained in the concrete realities of life. May those blessings be abundant for you in the New Year!

    shoreacres

    December 12, 2014 at 7:02 am

  10. Yes, Linda, time flies so fast. But we’re happy that this year has been a relatively calm and peaceful year for us.

    It’s true that even though my health issues still remain, they don’t affect me that much — and I bounce back easily. Much more important, we’re grateful that, for the first time since my health collapsed 12 years ago, I wasn’t hospitalized!

    Also, this year I tried to write more (especially during the second half of the year), mostly in the form of short blog posts. Jojang has been encouraging me for years to write. I’m glad that I did, and I have to admit: I find it immensely satisfying.

    There’s nothing like being with family during Christmas day. I’m happy to know that you’ll be spending time with them.

    In spite of the ups and downs, twists and turns of life, our lives, indeed, are full of blessings. And each moment is pregnant with God’s grace.

    May you and your loved ones have a Blessed Christmas and a Grace-Filled New Year!

    –Matt and Jojang

    MattAndJojang

    December 12, 2014 at 9:41 am

  11. Merry Christmas, Matt and Jojang! 😀

    Jack Ealdama

    December 15, 2014 at 11:19 am

  12. Merry Christmas and have a blessed New Year ! may our good Lord always grace your family with good health and good fortune !

    tolits englatera

    December 15, 2014 at 3:53 pm

  13. Hi Jack! Thank you for the well wishes. Hope all is well with you and the family… Enjoy the Christmas Season, may it be a wonderful time of getting closer to Jesus and with family. God bless always!

    MattAndJojang

    December 15, 2014 at 4:25 pm

  14. Thank you, Lito. Please give a tight hug to Manang Cris and Mang Joe. Please tell her that I love her and always think of her. I am grateful and indebted to her for taking good care of us… Wishing all of you the best and may the good Lord keep you in His loving embrace. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year too!

    MattAndJojang

    December 15, 2014 at 4:27 pm


Leave a Reply

