MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

Remembering My Father

with 2 comments

Paul Aguas

A short piece written by Matt’s sister, Katherine, to honor their father, Paul Aguas, on his 21st death anniversary.

My father was a man who had smiles to brighten your days,
Who always made you feel good with his warm words of praise
And what’s more he knew what to do to make your wishes come true.
He was my father.
My father was someone who always had good stories to tell,
But just as importantly he knew how to be a good listener as well.
He was patient & kind and the very best friend you could ever hope to find.
He was no ordinary man,
And I’m proud to tell the world that he was my father.
Rest in peace, Daddy. We miss you so much.

–Katherine Aguas Padua

 

Written by MattAndJojang

December 16, 2014 at 8:58 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a lovely remembrance of a man who obviously was quite special. You’ve written of him before, and I remember thinking then that he must have been a terrific influence on your whole family. Thanks so much for sharing this.

    shoreacres

    December 16, 2014 at 9:36 pm

  2. You’re welcome, Linda.

    Yes, he was a special man. And although he passed away 21 years, we miss him more than ever.

    A loving husband and father, he was patient, kind, loving, and generous. And he was this way not only to his family but also to the countless individuals that he touched as a spiritual guide and preacher.

    He was, however, just like any of us; he also had weaknesses just like any human being. But he was humble enough to acknowledge them.

    Many years ago (I was a college student then), we went out to have pizza and beer. While we were talking, I was surprised when he suddenly apologized to me.

    He said: “I’m sorry that I didn’t spend enough time with you.” (During that time he was always away preaching, not only in our country but in different parts of the world).

    I simply said: “I understand, Dad. Don’t worry about it.”

    I knew that he loved us, but he also had the passion to reach out and help people. And he was one of those rare people who didn’t ask anything in return for what he did for others. A self-sacrificing and generous man.

    We all miss him…

    –Matt

    MattAndJojang

    December 17, 2014 at 11:05 am


Leave a Reply

