MattAndJojang's Blog

God. Life. Spirituality.

No Greater Joy: Photos from Around the World

with 2 comments

Afghan Girl (Photo: Steve McCurry)

Steve McCurry is an American photojournalist best known for “Afghan Girl” a haunting photograph of his that first appeared in National Geographic. Of his work he says, “Most of my images are grounded in people. I look for the unguarded moment, the essential soul peeking out, experience etched on a person’s face. I try to convey what it is like to be that person, a person caught in a broader landscape, that you could call the human condition.” This luminous collection of quotes and photographs from around the world by McCurry is centered around living in joy.

~ Source: http://dailygood.org

Click Here To View The Photos

Written by MattAndJojang

January 4, 2013 at 11:03 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve seen these several places, which is as it should be. The photos are marvelous, and the quotations add so much. I think tonight I’d pick this as my favorite: “We cannot cure the world of sorrows, but we can choose to live in joy.”
    – Joseph Campbell

    shoreacres

    January 4, 2013 at 11:16 am

  2. I and Jojang had the opportunity of watching an interview of Steve Mccurry on the Asian edition of CNN a few days ago. His life is as interesting and colorful as his photos.

    Love the photos, too, and the underlying theme of joy. I really like most of the quotes and couldn’t seem to pick out my favorite quote. 🙂 But the Joseph Campbell quote you chose is a good one. Living in joy is something that we can always choose even in the midst of the most challenging and difficult times of our lives…

    ~ Matt

    MattAndJojang

    January 4, 2013 at 11:29 am


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.